International council for science (ICSU) is an international organization that has brought together member states and scientific organizations for promoting science development. Its headquarter is in Paris, France. Its members are international scientific unions and National scientific bodies.

ICSU was founded in 1931. Formerly, it was composed of two organizations: The International Association of Academies (IAA; 1899 – 1914) and the International Research Council (IRC; 1919 – 1931).

In 1998, the two bodies were brought under the umbrella name of International Council of Science though the same abbreviations ICSU was retained. The ICSU’s major activity is to optimize science to benefit the society worldwide.


ICSU core mission is to bring the rich scientific knowledge from scientist regardless of their country of origin or race.

The secretariat of the ICSU is composed of 17 staff members. They are responsible for the daily running of the organization under the watchful eyes of an elected executive board. There are three policy committees namely: The Committee on Freedom and Responsibility in the conduct of Science (CFRS), the Committee on Finance (CF) and the Committee on Scientific Planning and Review (CSPR). These committees assist the board. The general assembly meets after every three years.
As of 2012, ICSU had observers and associates from 140 countries, 120 national scientific members and 31 disciplinary scientific unions worldwide. The president of the ICSU is Mr. Gordon McBean.

ICSU core mission is to bring the rich scientific knowledge from scientists regardless of their country of origin or race. In its interactions with various members it has offered sound advice to governments, private sectors and other stakeholders involved in scientific development and application.

Under this ICSU umbrella, multi-disciplinary scientists from all countries are brought together for the same cause. Resources and knowledge is drummed up to identify important scientific issues and the society in general.
The ICSU draws funds mainly from member’s contributions. Other sources include framework contracts and grants from United Nations bodies and agencies supporting scientific research work and development.